Teach me to be rich.

(image found at http://priceonomics.com/the-business-of-fake-hollywood-money/) 

As you all know, I’m a homeless, jobless wreck with $70K of impending debt/doom. Naturally, instead of applying to jobs (as I told my girlfriend I was doing), I spent the last twenty minutes trying to look up how to start my own business. My dad started his own business when he was just a wee thing, and I’d like to think I could follow in his footsteps…even if it gives me pride issues.

ALAS! To start your own business, you need an idea for a business. In my twenty-two years on this God-forsaken planet, I’ve had so many, and none at all. Which brings me to you–my faithful seven followers. What would you be interested in the most?

So far I have:

  • Coordinate weekend vacations to anyone looking to “get away”–singles/couples/large parties heading to Vegas. I love to travel, and I love to do it cheaply, yet luxuriously. Give me a budget–ANY budget–and I’ll get you somewhere.
  • Thrift shop like a pro/blogger/fashionista/Macklemore. I have a keen eye for ugly things that, with a little love, turn into my most beloved pieces. Friends will scorn me when I pick up the oversized, men’s Hawaiian shirt, yet luuuuuhhhve it and havvvee to have it after I tie it up and pair it with some high-waisted jeans. I’m on top of runway trends, which are always blasts from the past. I know what I’m doing, and what I’m doing comes very cheap.
  • Dovetailing off that–Styling others on a budget. I find the cheapest clothing and make it cute. I can’t remember the last time I spent over $25 for an article of clothing. Not to toot my own horn, but I always get complimented on my outfits. There’s a reason I interned for CollegeFashionista for almost two years…
  • Guide high school students through the high school/college transition process. I struggled with this myself, I overcame it, and now I already coach younger friends/friend’s little siblings to do it better than I did. Anything from helping them decide a major, to which school is perfect for them, then all the way to the application and final selection processes. I was a lost puppy once, and I wouldn’t wish it upon anyone (especially if they have a dissociated mother like mine).
  • Lastly, Gourmet Brownies are a passion. Brownies in general are a passion. I’m ready to set up shop and start baking away my days with the weirdest, more creative brownie inventions! However, this option could be a costly start-up…

I love traveling, fashion, life decisions, and eating, so if you have any other suggestions, I’m open to them.

But how do I get these ideas started? What makes them “GO”? How do I know that there is actually a demand for these things? How do I know that I’ll even get paid?! Or how much?!?!

I’m on my journey to figuring all that out. BIG thanks to Ramit Sethi (and this article, specifically) for leading me to some of these ideas. I’m naturally good at them and they are all things I do when I’m procrastinating. So if I could make what I’m doing while procrastinating my real-time, big-girl-pants job, THAT would be ideal. Seriously, peers, check this guy out. He’s one of the few rich people who actually know what they’re talking about.

Until next time. I’ll be here. Typing away ideas, only to be washed away.

Leave a comment